h1

New Competition Details Announced

September 23, 2013

I have just become aware of the date for a new fitness competition, produced by the Legacy Series and hosted by our friends at CF Wilmington.

Saturday Dec 14th there will be a mixed gender, 4 member, team competition.  While you are always encouraged to compete,  this is a particularly good chance to do so because 1) it’s so close and 2) team competitions are particularly fun.

On that note, I’m looking at putting together a CFCB-best competition team(s) and doing some more advanced preparation for this event.  We havent figured out all the logistics yet, but there’d likely be some measure of greater commitment in both time spent at the gym and work devoted to some of the more advanced tools in the CrossFit toolbox (Muscle-ups,Snatches, Pistols etc).  If you’re at all interested please let me or Whitney know.  We hope to craft a firmer idea of what to do and how to do it, and start serious prep in mid October.

That said,  members with no interest in a serious team, or members that cant or dont want to commit more of their life to what is, in essence, exercising for points,  can and SHOULD still compete for fun.  You are still very welcome create your own team of friends,  and your experience at CFCB (heretofore good, we hope) will in no way change. 

Please use the “COMMENTS” section for any questions or concerns.

20 comments

  1. I would like to be a part of this!


  2. I just made sure I have that day off. I would love to participate. If people think I could help on one of the competition teams I would be willing to put in extra time but completely understand if I am not a good fit for one of those teams as I am not the best at body weight things and would just be excited to participate in any way!!


  3. Ps Gerstenberger = adelynn


    • I can’t imagine you NOT being picked to help Adelynn. I’ve only ever seen you “struggle” with two body weight actions and maybe the extra time for training/preparations is just what you need to push those to the next level. 🙂


      • Thanks Kathleen but you must have never seen me attempt toes-to-bars, pull-ups, handstand push-ups…. You name it!!!


  4. I’m absolutely doing this one!


  5. I’d like to be on a team!


  6. I’d like to try out for the team


  7. I’d be interested in doing this for fun.


    • Jacqui – after the baby, I’d love to join you on a more fun/scaled team


      • Kate – perfect! The way you’re going strong during your pregnancy, I’m going to have to try & keep up with you 🙂


  8. I am interested in being on a team.


  9. As far as I can tell, I am available and would love to be partnered up with some folks.


  10. Count me in


  11. What an awesome number of you wanting to do it! Man-woman up and get it done!


  12. Any idea when the start time will be? Found out today that Aidan’s Girl’s on the Run race is Dec 14th at 8:00. If it starts after 9, I would still like to do this.


  13. Echoing Jade: very pleased to see the interest, both for the “fun” level and the “serious” level. While nothing is written in stone, what I’m leaning towards is the temporary addition of 2 or 3 hours a week that would be competition focused, with all competing athletes welcome to attend. Expect a fair amount of fast Barbell work (Snatch, Clean and Jerk and their components), a focus on the higher difficulty movements, and some team wods stolen from past CrossFit competitions. We’ll try to get more info firmed up in the near future, but meanwhile dont forget that youtube is a crossfitters best friend. Lots of great instructional video.


  14. Rick and I are interest in a “for fun” team!


  15. I am interested in doing the team event 🙂



Leave a Reply

