h1

WOD for Friday 8-8-14

August 8, 2014

Pistols Review. Try to do better.

Work
EMOM for a POSSIBLE 15 minutes
7/5 Thrusters @ 75/50
7/5 Pullups (any style)
7/5 Burpees

You must complete all 21/15 movements to count the round. Completed rounds = your score. Bergeron Beep Test specifics below:

x2. “Bergeron Beep Test”
EMOM for as long as possible:
7 Thrusters, 75/55
7 Pull ups
7 Burpees

This is my test for pure conditioning (not skill, not strength). This test makes it easy to compare athletes across a spectrum of sizes, locations, and irregardless of skill or equipment. In other words, size, strength, or skill doesn’t play a huge role (muscle ups and oly lifting would favor the skilled, heavier weights the strong, and rowing and airdyne favors those with mass). Nor does the running route, height of the wall ball target, or the model of airdyne matter. Some might argue that it favors lighter athletes, but the thruster weight equalizes this more than you might think. Now no test is perfect, and if there is any bias it would be to shorter athletes.
This is also an incredible test of mental toughness, as it is very easy to give up on this workout mentally before your body actually reaches failure. Basically this is a test of “Whatcha-got?” So… lets see whatcha-got.

By the way…Spealler got 17 rounds + 16 reps.

19 comments

  1. 11 Rounds Rx


  2. 10 rounds


  3. Hats off to Greg and Clark. I couldn’t hang with you boys today.
    10rds
    3 on
    1 off
    3 on
    1 off
    1 on
    1 off
    1


    • Oops hit the “post” button too soon. Here is my round scheme. I was attempting to do 3 on 1 off but clearly that broke down.
      1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15


  4. 8 rounds rxd (ok maybe my chest didn’t quite touch the ground on the burpees.)

    I went every other minute


  5. 9 rx – props to the 10/11 rep crew, tough one to gut out.

    Whitney, I bet one of the two of you’s chest touched the ground though …


  6. 8 rounds @ 6 reps. I’m thinking that next time I want to try and drop to 5 reps and go for 10/11.

    Side note, got some pistols this morning by progressing from getting up off of box, to standing on jerk blocks, then to putting my heel up on the edge of the lifting platform. Now, to find some extra $$$ and buy some OLY shoes!


  7. 11 rounds rxd

    Got a few pistols on each leg too. Yay.

    See ya in a week!


  8. Stoped on round 8. Shoulder pain was getting worse each round.
    On a good note I was able to complete 3 left leg pistols. Right knee just way to painful to do it.


  9. 13 Rounds with 3+ assest for pullups. I rested on rounds 7 and 11. I did strict pullups until the last two rounds when I started kipping and as soon as I did my shoulder start to hurt. Boo.


    • Thank you so much Brock for helping me transition or I never would have been able to even make 1 round!


  10. 11 rounds rx’d which was exactly what I got last time. I thought I only got 9 last time. This is why I should have looked up my previous score beforehand.


  11. 5 full rounds using a black band for pull ups.

    Mins 1, 3 , 5, 8 and 14


  12. 13 rounds rxd (12 last time). 5 on 1 off 5 on 1 off 3 on done.


  13. 11 rounds
    3 rounds 1 off 2 rounds 1 off 2 rounds 1 off 2 rounds 1 off 2 more rounds from hell
    Don’t know if 12 is possible without some human growth hormone or maybe a labotomy
    Last time 10


  14. 9 rounds—1 RX, 8 w/ +1band. I know I’ve done this before, but couldn’t find it. Lost lots of stuff when my phone died.

    Did better w/ pistols…like the different foot hold you showed me Brock- thanks!


  15. Andrea
    12rx – could have done thirteen but chickened out.
    5 on, 1 off, 2 on, 1 off, 2 on, 1 off, 3 on
    Finished each round at about 35-40 seconds.
    Did not do this last time


  16. 11rx again.


  17. 8 rxd



Leave a Reply

