h1

WOD for Monday 3-21-16. Open Workout 16.4

March 21, 2016

Prescribed is:

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 13 minutes of:
55 deadlifts
55 wall-ball shots
55-calorie row
55 handstand push-ups

Men deadlift 225 lb. and throw 20-lb. ball to 10-ft. target
Women deadlift 155 lb. and throw 14-lb. ball to 9-ft. target

Scaled is:

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 13 minutes of:
55 deadlifts
55 wall-ball shots
55-calorie row
55 hand release push-ups

Men deadlift 135 lb. and throw 20-lb. ball to 9-ft. target
Women deadlift 95 lb. and throw 10-lb. ball to 9-ft. target

This is a legitimate scale and will challenge many of you.

On a different note, the two organizers of our informal running club Susan W.  and Kate S.  both PR’ed their 1/2 marathon time by 8 minutes  (1:55 and 1:51 I believe…) at the Quintiles event this past weekend.  And they had to overcome cold wind and rain to do it.  Very good work, ladies!  We’re not surprised.  You worked hard at it!

35 comments

  1. Andrea
    16.4 (Sunday)
    171 RX
    So this is an embarrassing score because I got off the rower at 10:16. That means I only got six HSPU in 2:45. I got no-repped three times.
    DL I completed sets of six every :20, but I was giving myself 4min. Finished at 3:13 and had no problem moving right into wallballs . . .
    WB These were harder than I thought but I don’t know how! I did random sets of eight, five, seven, etc. Kept a pace of 18 per minute and finished at 6:15
    Row I tested this “fresh” on Friday and completed 55 cal in 3:09. Assuming I’d be waaayyy more tired, I was giving myself 4min for this action. I finished at 10:16
    HSPU So I sat on the rower for a while before gaining the courage to go for it. I’ve never done them on the red mat and didn’t even practice. I never committed, in my mind, to cycling any so I didn’t!
    I am super happy with my first three elements. I’ll leave it at that. Thanks, Whitney, for judging.
    I did this along side Jill. She was behind me the whole time but finished with 17 HSPU. Great job Jill!!! You weren’t even sure you’d get to that!


    • So, depending on how you feel, you may want another shot at this. You were ahead of schedule on the deads and the row went fine. I ran a test run and got no repped by Rob on every set after my first two. I had to focus on bringing my hips to the wall and bringing my feet together at the top of the pushup. Now the mystery/fear is out of the HSPUs for you, I;m almost certain you get another 5 reps.


      • Go for it Andrea!
        J


  2. 16.4
    3:58
    9:59
    158 RX

    Jason


  3. 148 scaled


  4. 16.4
    167 rx. I got to hand stand push ups with about 1 min left. I kept missing the line so I had a few no reps.


  5. Thank you Brock!
    Running club will resume next week. My knees need a little break.

    I rolled around on the floor and half-ass rode the airdyne this morning and even that hurt.


  6. 16.4 RX 150
    Split tie 9:56


  7. I did a scaled version.. 35 95#DL (deadlifts and I are just recently reacquainted) , 55 14#WB, 55 cal row, 22 PU.


  8. Susan actually PR’d by 9 minutes. I can’t subtract after running for close to 2 hours.

    I also tooled around on the air dyne and stretched.


  9. 16.4 135 RX. Deadlifts are my kryptonite. Of course they would program my strongest element at the very end of this and I wouldn’t even get to them. DL took me about 7 minutes! It’s been 3 years but I’ll continue to use my back surgery as an excuse. I will work in these this next year a lot! I will be good for my first shot at Masters next year!


  10. 175 rxd.

    We may have to rename “pulling a Marcos” to “pulling a Wilson”. There was moaning. There was rolling. And dare I say….THAT was the worse wod ever.


    • I agree, but you got a great score!!


  11. 16.4, second try: 176rx.


    • Yeah! Great job 1st time around and even better second try!!


    • DAWG! I think you got the best female score in the gym!


  12. 16.4 Rx Sunday: 74
    Scaled today for “fun” and the plan was to do HSPU instead of the push ups, but I didn’t get there. 161 scaled


  13. 16.4: 182rx
    Jill


  14. 16.4: 131 rx
    6:07 for DL + 5:24 for WB = 2 huge weaknesses that I suck at. I was really hoping to get to the hspu which I can do & am comfortable doing. My goal of 4 minutes for the 1st 3 elements was too much over my ability 😦

    On the plus side, after 2 hours and a score of 7-6, 7-6, I won my match against my nemesis Cape Fear Country Club. I’ll use that win to cheer me up from 16.4!


    • I love that you have a nemesis, Jacqui.


      • Those No Good Stuck Up Country Club Bitches always putting on airs and trying to close down the Rec Center!


  15. 177 Rx

    DL 4:45
    WB 8:04
    Row 11:17


  16. 161 rx


  17. 161 rx –


  18. 16.4 158rx


  19. 16.4 on Friday 165 in 12:41


  20. Brock- 194 rxd. Deads 1:58. Wallballs 5:01 (3:03), Row 8:47 (3:40) Transitioned and started wallballs at 9 mins. Got 29 in something like 6-6-3-4-3-3-2-2. 3 No reps on the HSPU and the Wallballs. Jason left his home improvement project and made a special trip to the gym to judge me.

    So, I’ve trained all these elements pretty consistently, as they pop up almost every year. I was please with my deads. Sub 2 was pretty fast. Wallballs were about right. Row was a little slow. But I was disappointed in my HSPU effort. While I’m better than I was, it;s fair to say I’m now a C+ where I used to be a C-. As an example Joel got 4 less than me in about half the time.

    One more to go. Thrusters almost for certain.


  21. 16.4
    1st try Friday- 87 Rx (super slow DL)
    2nd try Monday- 125 Rx (medium slow DL, in comparison)

    Excited to improve my score for sure! But, need to work on both my DL weight and cycling WBs faster.


  22. 16.4
    165rx


  23. 165 Rx
    Not even attempting the hspu’s was a disappointment.


  24. 16.4 – 161 scaled deadlifts 95lb, RX wallballs


  25. 16.4 scaled: 126
    A ridiculous amount of time was spent on wall balls. Not sure exactly how long, just ridiculous.


  26. 165 rx
    17 seconds for hspu and can’t do them anyway!


    • This is Shelby…



Leave a Reply

