h1

WODs for Thursday and Friday. Barbell Club Info. Programming Shift as of August.

July 28, 2016

WOD’s First

Thursday:  Instead of 2 technical periods, we’ll up the work factor and go 1 Technique period and Work Capacity thereafter as follows:

Technique: 10 Minutes On The Pistol Squat 2:25 Minute Video Here.  Progressions and scaled version in a 4 minute video Here.

If you have pistols, work on speed through the transition from right to left to right etc.

Work:  3 rounds for time.  25 Kb Swings, 75 Doubles (225 singles or 150 Heavyrope)

Friday-  The Long Day

Against a 30 minute clock– Run 1 Mile: then AMRAP 50 Box Jumps or Step Ups 24/20, 50 BackSquats 135/95, 50 Deadlifts 135/95.

Barbell Club

Kayla is taking the lead with our newly minted Barbell Club.  Any athletes interested in developing their Olympic lifting and possibly (but not necessarily) competing in an Olympic Lifting meet are highly encouraged to consider this programming option.

Some of the details pertaining to when have yet to be ironed out, but in essence, Barbell Club members will front-burner their Olympic Training, committing to 3 Olympic workouts per week.  The remaining four days you are free to do as much or as little CrossFit and/or other exercise as you choose.  The Oly programming will be done be Kayla and she’ll keep track of and adjust your exercises, drills and numbers as things develop.  Sport Specific concerns like weight cutting,  determining your competition day loading, and Olympic Etiquette will also be addressed.

As I’ve said many times now,  the more feedback I get about Kayla the more I want you all to get in front of her and let her help your lifts.  She sees many things that I often miss.

If you have specific questions, please ask away in the comments section.

Programming Pivot

As August approaches, the programming will shift somewhat.  As of August 1 we are roughly 7 months from next year’s CrossFit Open, and every year the level of athleticism and fitness demand increases.  As such, for those parties interested in giving their very best effort to the 5 week open season, they need to start addressing the competition right now.  For those athletes, your next 7 months will have 4 distinct phases to it.

Aug and Sept will be devoted to getting very strong.  Your CrossFit related slow lifts will dominate.  Deadlift, Front Squat, S2O, pullups.  “Get big, get Huge, let your metcons suffer”.  For the first time in CFCB history, I’m putting this aspect of programming in the hands of someone else.  Brandon, our powerlifting competitor, will handle the strength-related portions of the programming.  You will condition/metcon 1 to 2 days a week.

Oct and Nov Speed Strength is Prioritized.  Cleans, Snatches, Overhead Actions.  Now that you’re strong, let’s move the weight fast.  Olympic Lifting will be prioritized.  Kayla will be heavily involved in drafting those WODs.  Again, conditioning and Metcons will happen 1 to 2 x week.

December is about developing your weaknesses.  Any movement that’s a dead stop (muscleups, chest to bar, doubles, Overhead Squats etc) must be addressed NOW.  2 Sessions a week per “bad” movement.  Here there will be a lot of individual programming.  We must start the new year with the whole CFG Open toolbox at our command.

Jan and Feb is Metcons.  Rev the engine in the movements specific to the Open.  Count on a lot of repeat workouts from year’s past.  Time domain of 7 to 20 minutes.  Couplets, triplets, lots of muscle endurance.

 

Prepping for an event 7 months away runs counter to CrossFit’s original mission statement of being constantly prepared for the “unknown and unknowable”  and much like we do now, we will continue to program workouts that, across a given week, will cover the spectrum of fitness demand.  Feedback on this training block has been good, and frankly I’ve enjoyed the variety in workouts from day to day.  (On that note, I hope you have as well)

So we will stick to that, by and large.  We’ll still have a Sprint Day, a Long Monkey Stomper, and a Barbell Day.  We’ll install a partner or team based day and the remaining day will be a floating mix of strength, technique and wods.

Which should you do?  Far be it from me to tell you, but I will say that Dat Open Prep Lyfe is MUCH more dreary.  You’ll see a fun WOD, maybe one you’ve done in the past, and wish you were doing that cool-ass chipper instead of back squats and good mornings  AGAIN.  In my opinion,  CrossFit vs OPEN prep will be more fun.  Often, especially in the fall, CrossFit will be significantly harder on balance the Open Prep.  BUT if you really want to maximize your score in the Open,  if that’s important to you,  the focus and periodization of the Open Prep path is definitely the way to go.  You can of course, do either program and still do the open.  Please ask questions in the comments section or directly when you see me. I will check it regularly

 

25 comments

  1. This is exciting!


    • Good!! I think so as well. The year is flying by.


      • Brock above.


  2. Thank you Brock for putting so much effort into your programing. I believe this this will have a huge impact on everyone! Great job


  3. WOD : 10:13 I thought I would be in the low 8’s but I was so winded and tired from this week. I will retry this on a good day. I also like the programming that Brock has put forth to us. Awesome job Brock!


  4. 12:14 rx – getting used to a rope and need more practice with it


    • *new rope


  5. Thurs: T2B and pistol work
    Work: 12:31rx


  6. 12:02 RX
    I was so excited to write that score as I have been working on my doubles for a few months. Still have lots of room for improvement but got it done today!
    I really need to get into the habit of posting daily (will work on that).
    I also am looking forward to the upcoming schedule!! Thanks Brock


    • Doubles looked great today. Quite a breakthrough, congrats!


  7. Thursday

    WOD = 6:09


    • Great score!


  8. Friday : 263 RX


  9. I did Day 2 of the Oly lifting from Kayla. Thankfully Andrea and Ryan were there to give me pointers and make sure I was doing everything correctly. My numbers are written down in my notebook…in my car…


    • where is the Oly lifting schedule posted?


      • Kayla drew up a schedule and Mackie was kind enough to print out several copies. We’ve got a whiteboard on order from the Venerable Southern Signs. Meanwhile, get to Oly Lifting class and thereafter, it’s as you see fit on the remaining wods. You are encouraged to arrange meet up with other Barbell Club Members at any CFCB class and observe and assist one another.


      • Weekly workouts will be posted in the Carolina beach barbell club Facebook page on Sunday’s as well


  10. Friday: 271rx


  11. Friday 290 rx


  12. Thursday-13:40
    Friday- 165; this was a bear. The run felt good to me and I kept running the whole time but my time was about the same (11:30). Back Squats were way harder than they should have been for me. The hamstrings were screaming early and I was concerned pushing it.
    Jason


  13. Friday: 214 rx
    back squats about killed me & I spent most of my time there


  14. For some reason I decided to participate in Friday’s wod. Several hours later, I’m still not recovered. In at 8:03 on the midday run. Total reps 332rx. Absolutely no way I could have pushed harder to catch Kristin Fox! She’s a beast! Great job, Kristin!


  15. For some reason I decided to participate in Friday’s wod. Several hours later, I’m still not recovered. In at 8:03 on the midday run. Total reps 332rx. Absolutely no way I could have pushed harder to catch Kristin Fox! She’s a beast! Great job, Kristin!
    ~andrea


  16. Friday- 245 RX
    Tough workout- back squats were definitely the killer


  17. Friday – walked for about an hour (~4 miles).
    Saturday – Day 3 of Oly lifting.



Leave a Reply

