h1

Lindsey G. gets CFCB’s first ring muscleup by a female member. And a big announcement!

December 11, 2016

First Things First!  I don’t want this to get eclipsed by the news below because it’s a pretty damn big deal!  I am pleased to announce that at long last we had a female CFCB athlete get a ring muscleup.   Lindsey G.  put it all together and swung/pulled/climbed the fence/ and pressed out her dip to secure her place in CFCB history.  She gets a free bag of Progenex for her efforts (which were substantial, by the way.  She practiced at open gym for a good 4-5 weeks prior to today’s success).  Huge Congrats, Lindsey.  If you wake up dead, I’m betting on Eileen or Jill as the culprit.

Frankly,  I was starting to doubt my own coaching, but now I can sit back smugly; secure in the knowledge that I am a CrossFit and Muscleup expert and cross that box off my list.  Which, serendipitously segues nicely into this very big announcement….

Dear Friends and Members:

I write this post with very mixed emotions.  I recently received and ultimately accepted an offer to buy CrossFit Carolina Beach from our relatively new member Joel Hartzler. As of this Friday, December 15th, the last details will be addressed and Joel and his business partner Jordan will assume ownership and operational control of the gym.  
This offer was unsolicited and took me by surprise; and my acceptance of it was not at all due to any dissatisfaction I had with running CFCB,  quite the contrary.  Since opening our doors in late 2010 I have really enjoyed almost every aspect of CF affiliate ownership, most particularly, the relationships that I have developed with many of you.
What does this mean for you?  
(Aside from less Brock and Whitney Wilson in your life) Nothing but good things!  Joel has some great ideas that will immediately impact the gym in a positive way, including but not limited to expanding the schedule and acquiring some new equipment.  His words follow below and he’ll go into these in greater depth.  But meanwhile I’m pleased to be able to give Joel a really strong endorsement.  I would be reluctant to sell at any price to someone who would be a bad fit  and  Joel is a great fit!  Over the years, we have developed some measure of gym culture,  and many other gyms, CrossFit or otherwise, have a very different character to them, and their way of doing things would not mesh well with ours.  I see no conflicts of that nature with Joel.  He really gets it, and I’m confident  that going forward you will continue to enjoy the gym just as much as you always have, if not more so.
On that note, Joel has agreed to let Whitney and myself stick around as members,  and many people in his shoes would have a problem with that. And I must say, I am really looking forward to working out alongside of you!  That will be great fun!  
I’m sure that many of you will instantly wonder after the annual CFCB diet contest, dismayed that perhaps your intentional fat gain during the holiday season was misguided.  Fear not Gluttons!  The CFCB Diet Contest lives on!  There may be some structural changes, but you will still get herded like cattle and take pictures in terribly unforgiving lighting shortly after the new year!  Hooray!
That segues nicely into announcing the following:  My last day of instruction will be this Friday and as a combined “Goodbye Whitney and Brock/Hello Joel and Jordan” event we’ll do one final WOD Friday at 5pm and then have an informal send off of the Wilsons and a simultaneous “Meet the new guys”.   Food and drink will be provided! This would be a great time to give the new team your input as to what you’d like to see at CFCB in the future.
I’m a believer in closure and symmetry and I think this final WOD will satisfy on both fronts.  It’s the workout we christened this whole adventure off with, way back in November of 2010.  If memory serves, I did this with Whitney and Lala O. with about 4 retail barbells, 1 squat rack and 3  or 4 stallmats at the 9 Pavilion Place location.  The ascending/descending format is what’s commonly known as a reverse ladder, but this particular workout has become known as “THE Reverse Ladder” 
For time
25 Squat Cleans @ 95/65, 5 Burpees
20 Squat Cleans @ 95/65, 10 Burpees
15 Squat Cleans @ 95/65, 15 Burpees
10 Squat Cleans @ 95/65, 20 Burpees
5   Squat Cleans @ 95/65, 25 Burpees
Please try to clear your schedule and attend.   We’d love to see you.   
 
Lastly,  a VERY genuine THANK YOU from Whitney and myself for letting us work for you for the last 6 years!  We had a great time,  I sincerely hope you did as well.
Warmest regards,
Whitney and Brock
***********************************************************************

Greetings CrossFit Carolina Beach members,

First of all, I’d like to offer a heartfelt thank you to Brock and Whitney for making this opportunity possible.
I’ve only gotten to know a handful of you so far, but I can already tell this is a vibrant group of fitness-minded people. I can’t wait to get to know the rest of you better!
Jordan and I look forward to becoming part of this community. We hope to motivate you, to sweat alongside you, and to help you along your fitness journey.
I know this news is coming as a big surprise. Jordan and I will be going into more detail about our plans for the gym at the event on Friday, which I hope you can all attend. If any of you have questions or concerns that I can address right away, here’s my contact info.jhhartzler@gmail.com
503.997.4362

Cheers,

Joel

7 comments

  1. Wow. What are you gonna be doing now Brock? Chris Coble

    On Dec 10, 2016 2:19 PM, “Crossfit Carolina Beach Daily Workout” wrote:

    > CrossFit Carolina Beach posted: “First Things First! I don’t want this to > get eclipsed by the new below because it’s a pretty damn big deal! I am > pleased to announce that at long last we had a female CFCB athlete get a > ring muscleup. Lindsey G. put it all together and swung/pulled/c” >


    • Chris, not entirely sure. Maybe fitness in some aspect, maybe something else. Try to help dogs a little more is one aspiration.


  2. I really hated the thought of working out until Meghan and I joined CFCB a little over a year ago. But we really enjoy going each day we can it has become a huge part of our lives. Brock and Whitney you guys have been the biggest part of that. You both have been good to us and really helped encourage us to be part of crossfit. Thank you guys for everything!


    • Drew S


    • Drew, Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a great day for CFCB when the Sellers came aboard. Hopefully I’ll be working out alongside you for a while to come.


  3. I live off Pine Grove road and for 5 years now I have driven to Carolina Beach to Veterans Park then closer to Monkey Junction just to work out at Carolina Beach Crossfit. There are other boxes closer to me and I have visited all but 2 in town. In my opinion nothing in town compares to Brock’s professionalism, dry humor, yellow tights and sincere love for Crossfit than his Box. The box will not be the same without Brock as the captain of this ship. The new owners have really big shoes to fill Brock. I wish the best for you and your family!


    • Larry, Thanks SO much for your kind words. They are appreciated very much. I’m surprised you remember the Gold (not yellow, GOLD) tights, but I suppose some things you just can’t unsee! I hope to work out alongside you in the near future.



Leave a Reply

